‘EXPOSING’ AFRICAN DADS! :)

Yeap! I know that father’s day was last week, but I am still going to do this post anyway. On mother’s day this year, I ‘exposed’ mums on a video that I posted on YouTube, by pointing out common habits of mothers (especially African mums). I don’t think that dads should get away either, so I am going to expose dads (more specifically African dads) by pointing out a few rules that many dads here like to go by.

PS. THIS IS ALL ON A LIGHT NOTE; DON’T TAKE ANYTHING WRITTEN HERE TOO SERIOUSLY.

I hope that you enjoy this post; and laugh a little.

1.NO BOYS ALLOWED (for girls).

Oh, but of course I had to start with this one. As a girl, having a boy over at your home is a taboo, and you are insane if you dare do it when your parents are around. I keep telling my friends that, my dad is one of the sweetest people on earth, but when it comes to boys, he becomes a whole other person. We all know that it’s from a special place in their hearts of wanting to protect us though; because they (having once been boys too) know what goes on in the mind of a young boy only too well.

2. ANSWER ME WHEN I TALK TO YOU BUT DON’T SPEAK BACK TO ME.

Am I the only one who never knows how to react when being scolded? Haha! I mean, seriously. Your dad asks you a question, and when you go on to answer it, he twists everything that you just said and finishes by saying, “Okay! So now you think you can raise your voice at me?”.

Then he asks you another question after that, and, having studied the last scenario, you choose to keep quiet. Wrong move! He goes on to say, “Oh! So now you won’t answer me? Eh?”. C’mon! What should I do? Haha!

3. DARE WALK AWAY FROM ME AND YOU SLEEP OUTSIDE THE HOUSE.

Movies are filled with exaggeration. I see how teenagers take out their moodswings on their parents and just walk away as their dads are speaking to them because they are ‘angry and don’t want to talk’. Are you kidding me? Just you dare walk out on an African dad. You have no idea what war you have just began in that house.

4. YOU MUST HUSTLE FOR MONEY…EVEN FROM ME.

I saw a meme where a young person was talking about how someone was saying she didn’t do any work, and she responded by saying (paraphrased), “Oh! So you don’t think getting money from my dad is work?”. All I could think in my mind as I read that was, ‘trueee!’. Getting money from African dads is a type of hustle in itself. Before you ask for that money, you have to ensure that you come up with a convincing power-point project to support your need for it….okay! I am exaggerating, but you do get the point. It isn’t easy. It takes a lot of time, energy and effort to get him as far as considering it; and most times, if the need is secondary, the response will be, “Get a job then!”

5. IF YOU ARE FAILING IN CLASS, DON’T TALK TO ME.

Yes! Of course this rule is getting a bit weaker with time, because more parents are learning to embrace the strengths of their children, which may not necessarily be in books. However, getting weaker does not mean that it is completely extinct..it still actively exists. I cannot tell you the number of stories that I have heard or read about children who take extremely crazy (and funny) measures to hide their poor results from their dads. Their rule is simple; if you are doing well, those are your dad’s genes; if you are failing, those are your mother’s genes. *sigh*

6. MY CUP/ PLATE/ SPOON/ SEAT/ ETC

Haha! This is a funny one. My dad doesn’t have a specific spoon/plate/cup, but he used to have his specific seat in the living room, and if he found you seated in it, you had to move; no compromise. That changed a while back and nowadays, he isn’t attached to any specific seat. However, he still has his specific place on the dining table. Also, I went to visit my grandpa sometime back, and as we were having dinner, he was very quick to point out his spoon. Nobody else was allowed to use it. At first, we thought that he was joking, but our grandma was very quick to point out that he was actually serious. Crazy, right? Nope. Not with African dads. Keep off their property.

I could probably come up with more rules that African dads have, but this is all I have for now. Truth is, all the above rules don’t make us love our dads any less; if anything, we love them the more. They are amazing people who inspire us in their own special way. One day is not enough to appreciate dads all over the world. Appreciate your dads/ father-figures and generally all those around you; not just once in an year, but as often as possible.

 

screenshot_2017-06-25-18-47-56-e1498407130911.png

 

Happy belated father’s day to all the wonderful dads out there, and in a very special way;

screenshot_2017-06-25-18-47-36.png

…HAPPY BELATED FATHERS DAY TO MY DAD <3.

As always, don’t forget to;

 

JUST BE YOU!

 

Have a beautiful week ahead!

 

9 thoughts on “‘EXPOSING’ AFRICAN DADS! :)

Leave a Reply

