YOUNG INSPIRATION 101 #3

Hey! It’s been a while since I posted in this category (YoungInspiration101) and today, I will be posting two blog posts in it. Before we go on, if you missed YoungInspiration101 #2 which featured my basketball captain, Mshilla, just click here and get caught up.

This first one features my really good friend, David. I have known him for under an year but I have already drawn so much inspiration from him. I requested David to feature in this category, and when I mentioned that ‘I basically ‘interview’ young people who I believe are shaping the world’, he laughed and said, “Shaping the world. That’s a huge word!” Truth is, it really is a huge word, but, like I said to David, it comes from the small things that we do every single day, which I believe David is doing. Change starts small. With that introduction, let’s get into our chat with David;

1. Tell us a little about yourself.

Hi!

My name is David Vilembwa Odary and I am 20 years old. Currently, I am a student at Kenyatta University taking a bachelor’s degree in Economics and Finance.

2. What are some of your passions?

Passions… Where do I start? Well, I love music very much. Whether it’s playing or listening to it. I believe music speaks volumes about issues pertaining to life in general.

The outdoors; basic stuff like hiking, riding and spelunking.

I also enjoy a good book, some silence and a hot cup of coffee.

3. What inspires / motivates you as you go about your daily activities?

My greatest motivation comes from an undying need to actualize my potential. I tend to believe that many of us are ok with just being ok, which is not ok. It is a responsibility we owe, not just to ourselves but to humanity to make the most of our gifts and talents, and share them with the rest of the world.

Myles Munroe talks about dying empty. I believe we should all strive towards that ideal.

4. You are very immersed in different passions, projects and such. How do you create such a perfect balance?

There never seems to be enough time to go around, so it’s best if you maximize the ‘little’ time available. Diaries and Daily Planners go a long way in helping one organize his / her time and thus balance your day.

5. Does it become too much sometimes, and if so, how do you handle it?

Once in a while, work is bound to get to you. There really is no secret way ( in my opinion ), of unwinding. You just have to figure out that thing that completely shuts out / overtakes every other thought and do that. ( I do not in any way whatsoever imply the use or abuse of drugs )

6. What’s your favorite quote?

Favorite quote, from J. Cole’s song ‘Love Yourz’.

The quote “love yours” emphasizes on the need to appreciate whatever you already have.

7. What do you believe is the place for young people today (do you think that they can shape the world)?

Older people were once younger people who had big dreams, some of which are a reality today. Before you can change the world, you need to dream big then follow those dreams with precise and directed efforts. Anyone can do anything they set their mind to, irrespective of their age.

Young people need to stop living this lie they see in music videos about partying all day and night, drinking themselves silly and smoking all kinds of weird stuff. That’s not real life! Those people are living their dreams and I can bet that they actually lead very different lifestyles. That’s just showbiz. Get yourself together and start working on your dreams. If not you’ll end up working on someone else’s.

8. Any advice or thoughtful words for anybody who may read this?

There is no right time, no right place, no right conditions for you to start working on your dreams. All you have is now. Start today with what you have and the rest will come to you as you discover your path.

HOW DAVID IS SHAPING THE WORLD:

It goes without saying that David is a go-getter, and I think that his zeal and drive to achieve his dreams is something that everybody (both young and old) should emulate. Another thing is that, he never refuses to try something because he feels it will be ‘too much’ for him. He is involved in so many projects and activities, many of which he didn’t even mention here. His somewhat perfect balance of everything that he does is really inspiring too. At such a young age, he is involved in so much, but he still finds time to study, hang out with friends and such. Basically, like he said, GO FOR IT! Chase after your dreams and stop undervaluing your potential. Give it your all. Again, like he said, don’t wait for everything to be perfect so that you can begin pursuing your goals, dreams, passions or ambitions. Start with where you are, and with what you have. Remember that changing the world starts small. BELIEVE IN YOURSELF! JUSTNIKEIT!

I hope that inspired you, as it did for me. As usual, don’t forget to always;

IMG_20170605_233202Have a beautiful week!💞

2 thoughts on “YOUNG INSPIRATION 101 #3

Leave a Reply

