A Few Things That I’ve Learnt Along My Walk With God! 😍

I just want to let you into my head, literally, and share with you the little understanding I’ve garnered along my walk with Christ. Hope you love it!

It took me a while longer than it should have to finally understand this. I guess this is where the difference comes in between living for the world and living for God. Your worth is in God’s eyes, and daaamn, to Him, you were to die for..  Literally!  How many of those who you’re trying to get to like you would do the same? My worth is in Christ.  That’s one of the greatest lessons I have learnt.

Eehh. 😂 okay. Let my single-ass self speak now! 😂 I’m currently reading a book called ‘I kissed dating goodbye (A new attitude towards romance and relationships).’  No no! It’s not what you’re thinking at all..okay, maybe it is. I’ve only read about two chapters and it’s amazing. Anyways, one of the things they writer (Joshua Harris), brings across is ‘young dating’. Normally (I’m slowly stopping this old habit!!) , when I meet a boy, I ‘zone’them, meaning, I ‘think’ I know who would be boyfriend material, and who I see as just a friend. Joshua insists that he’s made a decision to begin to view all the girls around him as friends, genuine friends. He wants to share likes, engage in hobbies and pursue interests with them as friends. He doesn’t want to persist on dating without long-term commitment (marriage) in the picture, and even if he starts dating now (at around 21 and still in school), where will it lead? When the time is right, he trusts that God will reveal the right girl to him. This is what I’m striving for too.  Honestly, yes! Right now, I’m at a point in my life where I really want to focus on my goals and passions without commiting my heart to someone. That’s true, but, also, I don’t want to push for ‘the wrong ones’. I also don’t want to awaken desires that are not to be kindled right now (the author talked about this too); “The spirit may be willing, but the flesh is weak! Don’t test it!” I remember one of my favorite aunts telling that to me late last year. I do pray every single day for this husband of mine, wherever he is; but, since rejuvenating my faith, I have a different perception. Is it hard? Are you kidding me? Yes, so hard. I mean, c’mon, I want to fall in love too like all my friends!😂  but I think that even God Himself knows that I can’t handle a boy right now. Na-ah! 😂 not now, no! At the right time.

I used to think that being a Christian was all about saying it, you know, just “Hey, I’m a Christian! “ and you’re done; but wow! It’s a lot of hardwork. It actually requires diligence, commitment, effort, it’s a real deal. It’s not fair that I make time for every single thing (school, lunches, basketball, movies /series 😍 ), but I come home and decide that I’m too tired to read the Bible or to pray. Honestly, the least I can do as a token of appreciation to God for all that He has done for me, is to give Him some, if not all, of my time, right?

This makes me really happy inside. The process of discovering who and what God wants me to be is really exciting. It’s challenging, yes, but it’s absolutely thrilling to find your purpose in Christ !

Haha! 😂 tell me about it. Sometimes, I feel like I’m gonna lose it. I consider running away like Riley from the animation ‘Inside Out’, but, who am I kidding?! Seriously? Run away then what?? 😒that’s a lie though, I’ve never considered running😂. Anyway, when all’s said and done, even when they get on my nerves, I know that it’s from a good place.

My mum was telling me a story about a close friend of ours. When he finished highschool, he didn’t go to college. He got a job and dove right into it. Things didn’t work out, and now, years later, he’s trying to finish up a degree. Note: I do appreciate him going back to school. It’s never too late! 👏  however, as you can see, the job was right for him, but it was the wrong time. Christians also know the rule to abstain until marriage, yes? ‘Doing it’ (forgive me, I’m not comfortable typing the word 😂) with the right person, is right, but, before marriage makes it wrong. There are many examples. I’m basically learning to not justify doing a right thing at the wrong time as right!

There’s so much pressure in the world today, and the line that differentiates believers and non-believers is totally faded. There’s a type of fear to speak / act up against wrong that exists. Sometimes I am assertive, but other times, I try to compromise, which is very wrong, because : spiritual death happens one compromise at a time.  If it’s right, it’s right, and if it’s wrong, it’s wrong. I need to understand that!

My body is the temple of God. That means that I need to watch what I do, and what I feed into my mind. Just because society does not really uphold it, doesn’t make it okay for me to not observe purity; and I shouldn’t be ashamed of actually refusing to do certain things for that very reason. Most importantly, I shouldn’t do it ‘just because the Bible says so’, but because I love God, and I know it’s right.

I feel so happy that no matter what, God chooses to see the best in me. Am I perfect? Haha! Please, hardly. 😂 but does He love me? YES!  That is why I’m forever indebted to Him.

I may know what I want, but it’s God who truly knows what I should do. Even when I’m busy chasing after my dreams, I need to be flexible enough to allow God to lead me, and in whatever I do, I need to remember that’s it’s all for the glory and honor of the Lord. There’s no time limit to achieving a certain goal. Let go, and let God.

The Bible is the guidebook to life. There’s no serving God if I’m not making an effort to actually understand what it means to serve Him. The Bible has advice to everything, and by everything, I mean literally that : EVERYTHING!  If I want to live a life that pleases the Lord, it’s gonna be through following what the Word says. No shortcuts!

‘That skirt is too short! ‘ ‘Don’t show too much skin! ‘ ‘It’s too fitting!’  Okay, I get it, I need to dress well, noted; but is that it? Modesty is not just outside. Its inside too, and I should make it my personal agenda to ensure that I’m modest, both inside, and out.

Sometimes, I get really upset when I’ve waited for something so much, then it doesn’t come through. Talk about getting disappointed.  In such moments, I’ve learnt to trust God, because, what comes afterwards is normally way better than what I had even imagined. Lesson? Have a little faith, and trust His timing!  

Finally, I’m human, and I cannot serve two masters at the same time. Have I ever allowed other things to take God’s place? *sigh* Only too many times. 😥 And yet afterwards, I still find myself running 🏃 back to the Lord because it’s just not the same. The peace that God gives, no man, no object (living or non – living), nothing else whatsoever, can offer!!
So, what do I want? 

I’m in love!💕 I’m in love!💞 I want to stay in love with the Lord! 💓 I wanna fall deeper in love with Him! ❤ 

15 thoughts on “A Few Things That I’ve Learnt Along My Walk With God! 😍

  1. Hey there this is excellently beautiful. Thank you especially for the point on now setting an age limit to achieve goals but striving to bring God glory In whatever we do!! I really needed that message today thank you. For the brief time I’ve followed you you’ve been good influence and i wont mind being friends ☺☺. God bless you and may you grow to be a strong woman. Also there’s this song imma recommend – waiting for you by TNED

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

