My Cartoon Inspirations 😍 From CN

So, today I’ll share my childhood addiction with you.. *drumrolls please* CARTOON NETWORK!

Oh how I miss this. Growing up, I could never get enough of the cartoons that  aired on CN. So, what I’m going to do is, I’ll pick a few of the characters who inspired me as a child, and even though these specific  cartoons are no longer aired on CN ( They changed the cartoons right? I don’t know. I never see them anymore.), their inspirations still stay with me.

Heads up: This post is a bit lengthy, get comfortable 😉 !

1. Courage the Cowardly dog. 

“You will never do anything in this world without courage ~ Aristotle. ”  

Awh! This must have been one of the sweetest dogs in history of mankind. He faced all his fears just to keep Muriel safe. This cartoon character taught me that it’s okay to be afraid. But, most importantly, he taught me that you should not give in to your fears.

Courage taught me just that : to have courage!  

2. The Grim adventures of Billy and Mandy.

“No one is you, and that is your power! “

Yaaay! The Grim adventures of  Billy and Mandy. We all have to appreciate how amazing these guys were. They were just..umm.. Interesting?.different?.. Well, out of the three, Billy was the closest to normal.

All the same, these characters taught me to embrace authenticity. There’s is absolutely nothing wrong with being a little bit different from the rest. Be You. Do You!

(Chill.. You guys.. Is it just me or does the grown up Mandy look like Eve from the series ‘The Librarians’  ?)

3. Kids Next Door. 

” If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together ~ African Proverb. ”

‘….5….4…3 …2…1…kids next door, kids next door… *Tararara tararaaaan (that being rock guitar sound) *’  Haha I should stop right? 😂 Well, that was the theme song, but of course, if you never heard it, I probably sound mad to you 😂. I loved the teamwork these characters had, and because of it, they accomplished so many missions.

No man is an island.  So, through this cartoon, I learnt that, it’s okay to want to do things alone sonetimes, but it’s important to learn to work with others.

4. Dexter’s Laboratory. 

“An investment in knowledge pays the best interest ~ Benjamin Franklin. ”

Dexter  !! Any time I watched an episode of Dexter, I felt super smart. How could someone that young carry out all those science experiments? Pretty unbelievable, right?.. Wrong. Dexter was.. Let’s say.. ‘naturally book-smart ‘, which was pretty cool. However, there’s nothing wrong with you not being as ‘naturally book-smart ‘ as Dexter. I’m not on that Dexter-genius level myself when it comes to science experiments..

However, there’s only so much that you could learn if you are willing. I know most of the current  school systems in the world  suck, because they put so much pressure on the students, and focus only on books. This is wrong, because people have different strengths, which is not necessarily in books. However, Dexter motivated me to learn, not because I have to, but because it is necessary to have that little knowledge, and keep adding more to it. Note that by learning , I do not mean solely through books.. Even by listening to advice from older people, or reading stories of great people who made great accomplishments in our history. My point? Learning never stops!  So, in whatever you are doing, be ready to learn.

5. Samurai Jack. 

“Your talent is God’s gift to you. Whatever you do with it is your gift back to God ~ Leo Buscaglia.”

‘Long ago in a distance land, I, Aku, the shape-shifting master of darkness, unleashed unspeakable evil,…. ‘  Oh yes. I could recite the entire intro for you using Aku’s intonation and accent.. Oh no I’m not joking. 😂 Anyways, Samurai Jack had mad skills when it came to using his sword. I almost took a karate class so that I could try and keep up with him, but, well, I didn’t. How did he inspire me you ask? He taught me the need to Sharpen my skills.   Whatever it is you are good at, sharpen it. Perfect it. Work on it. Become the ‘Samurai’ of cooking, or of basketball, or of art. Be a Samurai!

6. Ed, Edd, Eddie. 

“Surround yourself with people that reflect who you want to be and how you want to feel, energies are contagious ~ Rachel Wolchin. ”

‘Ed, Edd, Eddie…. Brrrrrrrryaa! ‘  Haha. Honestly, that was one of my favorite intros. Forget inspiration for a minute, this cartoon was the reason I went all the way to a mall to buy jawbreakers. Can you imagine my disappointment when I realized how small they were in real life compared to those in the cartoon? Sigh. Anyway, this cartoon made me embrace true friendship.

They were always there for each other, and struggled with the hardships of understanding girls together. Oh!  And of course, they hustled together to save money, just so they could buy jawbreakers. (PS. I still want to try out their humongous jawbreakers).

BTW, was it only me who always thought Edd was a girl? I mean, that hat of his was really shiny, I always thought ‘she’ just took good care of ‘her’ hair.. Spray and stuff.. It was just me? Oh well.. My bad!

7. Johnny Bravo. 

“Many of life’s failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up ~Thomas A. Edison. ”

Okay relax. I know what you’re thinking.. Johnny Bravo? Success? Really? Haha yes really. Johnny Bravo.  The inspiration he gave to me was that of persistence. Johnny Bravo never gave up. No matter how many times he was turned down by girls, he still hit on every other girl on the street afresh like nothing ever happened. Imagine if we pursued our goals and dreams with the sane zeal.. It makes sense now, right? And how about a little Johnny Bravo  confidence along with it. Mmh not too much.. Just a bit, because honestly, half of his confidence is equivalent to one hundred percent of a normal human being’s confidence 😂.

Oh Johnny Bravo..we still love you and your big fat ego  ! I hope you finally got a wife.

8. Powerpuff Girls. 

” I think a hero is any person who is intent on making this a better place ~ Maya Angelou. ”  

‘Sugar, spice, and everything nice. These were the ingredients used to make the perfect little girls. But professor Utonium accidentally added…. CHEMICAL X…. ‘   Oh yeah. I did tell you that I know literally all the intros, right? 😂 I didn’t? Well I’m telling you now.

Powerpuff girls. I loved this cartoon. Yes.. One reason was the girl power  in it, but mostly because of the superhero  in the girls. This cartoon inspired me to want to unleash the superhero  within me.  We don’t need to have ‘superpowers’ like flying above the city or laser shooting from our eyes, to be heros. Within each and everyone of us is a hero, that can make this world a better place for someone. There’s something good in all of us, all we have to do is embrace it. Moreover, don’t just be a superhero for other people, remember to be your own superhero. Remember to save yourself.

“Above all, be the heroine (feminine for hero) of your life, not the victim ~ Nora Ephron. “

9. The American Dragon. 


” Don’t wait for everything to be perfect before you decide to enjoy yourself ~ Joyce Meyer. ”

Save the best for last! Behold, Jake Long, My childhood crush. 😍 I even broke up with Johnny Test (still another cartoon on CN) just for him. Yes. It was all in my head. C’mon. I was just twelve.. Eleven? These guys were.. (still are) cute. Back to agenda, other than him being cute, I loved the American Dragon aka Jake Long, because of how real he was. Even when his ass was being whooped, he had the strength to make a silly joke or funny reaction before finally getting up and kicking butt. He was super cool and made time for his best  friends, and, for his grandpa. Basically, he was a hero, but he didn’t take life to seriously. He had time to laugh, and be real with everyone. What he taught me?  Enjoy life. It’s never that serious :).

So, which cartoon character on CN inspired you and how? Feel free to share 🙂


36 thoughts on “My Cartoon Inspirations 😍 From CN

  1. I love you already!!!!😍😍 all my fav cartoons. I was addicted to all of them; except the last one. Cartoon was my life back then😅 and diary of a nineteen year old girl, I turned 19 this past Friday; just 2 days ago so we’re automatically frienzies😄😄

    Liked by 3 people

      1. Hehehe thanks😊 I really miss those cartoons😦 they make me wish I was still little. Now we’re all growing up😅 hopefully we’ll get to watch them with our kids and be the spoilers because we’ll know every episode 😂

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

